indian govtNew Delhi:- The government has given an “in-principle” approval to sites for locating 46 new reactors comprising 23 twin unit projects in a phased manner, the Rajya Sabha was informed today.

Of these, two projects comprising four units at Gorakhpur Haryana Anu Vidyut Pariyojana (GHAVP-2 x 700) and Kudankulam Nuclear Power Project (KKNPP- 2 x 1000) have been accorded administrative approval and financial sanction, Jitendra Singh, MoS in PMO, which looks after the Department of Atomic Energy, today said.

This is perhaps for the first time that the government has revealed “in-principle” approval to these many sites.

The government has given in-principle approval for indigenous reactors units 3 and 4 (2×700) in Gorakhpur village of Fatehabad district in Haryana, Chutka in Madhya Pradesh (2x 700), Mahi Banswara in Rajasthan (4 x 700), Kaiga in Karnataka (2 x 700), Bhimpur in Madhya Pradesh (4 x 700) and Kalpakkam in Tamil Nadu (2 x 600).

The government has also given in-principle approval to reactors with foreign technical cooperation.

These include units 5 and 6 (2 x 1000) of Kudankulam Nuclear Power Plant (KKNPP), Jaitapur in Maharashtra (6 x 1650), Kovvada in Andhra Pradesh (6 x 1000), Chhaya Mithi Virdhi in Gujarat (6 x 1000) and Haripur in West Bengal (6 x 1000).


Comments are closed.