LEH: Jamyang Tsering Namgyal, Councillor Martselang was elected unopposed and unanimously as the new Chairman/CEC of LAHDC, Leh at Council Assembly Hall on Friday.
Likewise, Gyal P Wangyal, Councilor Sakti was elected unopposed and unanimously as the Deputy CEC, LAHDC, Leh.
CEO, LAHDC/DC Leh, Avny Lavasa who is also the election officer declared the results after two proposals each for CEC and Dy. CEC was accepted unopposed by all the elected members of Fifth Hill Council. Councilor Upper Leh Ven Lobzang Nyantak seconded by Phunchok Stanzin, Councilor Skurbuchan proposed Jamyang Tsering Namgyal for the post of CEC and Tsering Angdus, Councilor Saspol seconded by Phuntsog Dorjey, Councilor Pheyang proposed Gyal P Wangyal for the post of Dy. CEC for the running Fifth Hill Council.
After the results DC presented winning certificates to the newly elected CEC Jamyang Tsering Namgyal and Dy. CEC Gyal P Wangyal.
Addressing the house, CEC, LAHDC Jamyang Tsering Namgyal said that with the attainment of new post of CEC he has been made accountable for bigger responsibilities. He said that his priority would be to set up good governance through LAHDC and to stress on holistic and equitable development in the district.
He said, “I’m small in age, education and experience in terms of my political career but I’m determined to commit myself to the services of people taking everyone together without any differences.” He assured to put his best efforts to stand by everyone’s expectations and urged all the elected councilors, administration and public to support him in taking Leh District to a new height of development.
He expressed gratitude to all the elected members with special honour to Ex-CEC Dorjey Mutup by presenting Khataks.
He said that Dorjey Mutup has been an exemplary leader for his honesty, sincerity and dedication towards people’s welfare and stands as an inspiration to the young aspiring leaders including him. He also expressed thanks to DC, Leh and her team for the arrangements and smooth conduct of the election of CEC and Dy. CEC, LAHDC, Leh.
MLC, Legislative Council, J&K Chering Dorjey, State BJP President Ravinder Raina, SSP Sargun Shukla, ADC Moses Kunzang, district officers and BJP workers were also present on the occasion.